The 50 List..

July 22, 2009

miles-davis-kind-of-blue

Alright so my brother just posted a list of his 50 most important books and one of my fathers has asked me a few times for a list of 50 album recommendations for him. So I thought this would be a good time to do that and I figured I might as well post it here so people can see what I’m into. There are a couple of things I’d like to point out first.

Reservation The First… I mostly just threw this list together. I’m sure a couple of albums slipped my mind as it was extremely hard to narrow it down to 50. 

Reservation the second… Although I took many things into account when picking albums (influence, longevity, musicianship etc) there is obviously a large amount of personal bias and personal influence that also went into picking this list.

Reservation the third… I am still very young and obviously have not listened to nearly as much music as I should have or will in the future. So this list is based on what I have listened to enough to get a handle on in my life.

Reservation the fourth… I know people will disagree, if anyone even bothers to read this. Please comment and let me know how stupid I am for picking a certain album or leaving one off.

Reservation the 5th.. There is no real order to these picks except that the first on the list is clearly #1!

Here goes….

Kind Of Blue – Miles Davis

Sketches Of Spain – Miles Davis

Mirrored – Battles

Pet Sounds – The Beach boys

Sgt. Peppers Lonely Hearts Club Band – The Beatles

The White Album – The Beatles

Alaska – Between The Buried And Me

Colors – Between The Buried And Me

The Times They Are A-Changin’ – Bob Dylan

Highway 61 Revisited – Bob Dylan

Movies For The Blind – Cage

Salvation – Cult Of Luna

Saturday Night Wrist – Deftones

Calculating Infinity – The Dillinger Escape Plan

Morrison Hotel – The Doors

All Of A Sudden I Miss Everyone – Explosions In The Sky

Celestial – Isis

Axis: Bold As Love – The Jimi Hendrix Experience

In The Court Of The Crimson King – King Crimson

Arrangements For Fulminating Vective – Lye By Mistake

Avalanche – Matthew Good

The Audio Of Being – Matthew Good Band

Nothing – Meshuggah 

Hymn To The Immortal Wind – Mono

One More Step And You Die – Mono

Harvest Moon – Neil Young

Dark Side Of The Moon – Pink Floyd

Ummagumma – Pink Floyd

The Wall – Pink Floyd

Wish You Were Here – Pink Floyd

Evil Empire – Rage Against The Machine

Rage Against The Machine – Rage Against The Machine

Chaos AD – Sepultura

Parsley, Sage, Rosemary, And Time – Simon & Garfunkel

God Hates Us All – Slayer

Bass Extremes, Vol. 2 – Steve Bailey & Victor Wooten

Couldn’t Stand The Weather – Stevie Ray Vaughan 

Texas Flood – Stevie Ray Vaughan

Lateralus – Tool

The Unforgettable Fire – U2

A Show Of Hands – Victor Wooten

Exodus – Bob Marley & The Wailers

Extraction – Dennis Chambers, Greg Howe, and Victor Wooten

Layla & Other Assorted Love Songs – Derek And The Dominoes

Word Of Mouth – Jaco Pastorius

Impressions – John Coltrane

A Love Supreme – John Coltrane

Road Apples – The Tragically Hip

Led Zeppelin II – Led Zeppelin 

Portable Immortal – Immortal Technique

Leave a Reply

